Mass Digital Health Council

Governor Charlie Baker signed Executive Order #574 establishing the Massachusetts Digital Healthcare Council. The role of the Mass Digital Health Council is to advise the Governor on the digital health industry, and to develop a growth plan to achieve the goal of creating the leading global ecosystem for digital health in Massachusetts.

The Mass Digital Health Council is co-chaired by Assistant Secretary for Technology Innovation and Entrepreneurship Katie Stebbins, and Dr. Jeffrey Leiden, Chairman, President and CEO of Vertex. The Mass Digital Health Council will be supported by MeHI and will advise on strategic priorities of the Mass Digital Health Initiative. The list of Council members is below:


Katie Stebbins, Assistant Secretary for Innovation, Technology, and Entrepreneurship, Executive Office of Housing and Economic Development

Dr. Jeffrey Leiden, Chairman, President & CEO, Vertex

Members (alphabetical by last name):

Jay Ash, Secretary, Executive Office of Housing and Economic Development

Scott Bailey, Managing Director, MassChallenge

Johathan Bush, President, CEO, and Chairman, athenahealth

Jeff Bussgang, General Partner, Flybridge Capital Partners

Carl Byers, Executive Partner, F-Prime Capital Partners

Piali De, CEO, Senscio Systems

Andrew Dreyfus, President & Chief Executive Officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

Sandra L. Fenwick, President & Chief Executive Officer, Boston Children's Hospital

Alan M. Garber, Provost, Harvard University

Dr. Atul Gawande, Executive Director, Ariadne Labs at Brigham and Women's Hospital, and Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Michael Greeley, General Partner, Flare Capital Partners 

Louis Gutierrez, Executive Director, Massachusetts Health Connector

Dr. John Halamka, Chief Information Officer, Beth Israel Deaconess System

Kerry Healey, President, Babson College

Colin Hill, Chairman, CEO, and Co-Founder, GNS Healthcare

Keith A. Hovan, President & CEO, Southcoast Health

Dr. Erin Jospe, Chief Medical Officer, PatientKeeper

Stephen Kraus, Partner, Bessemer Venture Partners

Laurie Leshin, President, Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI)

Travis McCready, President & CEO, Massachusetts Life Sciences Center

Alice Moore, Undersecretary, Executive Office of Health and Human Services

Dr. Elizabeth G. Nabel, President, Brigham and Women's Health Care

Ed Park, Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, athenahealth

Lora Pellegrini, President and CEO, Massachusetts Association of Health Plans

Larry Renfro, CEO, Optum

Martin Arnold Schmidt, Provost, MIT

Peter Sherlock, Senior Vice President, Programs and Technology, Center for National Security & Director, Bedford Operations, MITRE Corporation

Justin Steinman, Chief Marketing Officer, GE Healthcare Digital

Dr. Steven Strongwater, President & CEO, Atrius Health

Laurance Stuntz, Director, Massachusetts eHealth Institute at MassTech

Marylou Sudders, Secretary, Executive Office of Health and Human Services

Steven Tello, Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Entrepreneurship & Economic Development, UMass Lowell

Dr. David Torchiana, President & CEO, Partners HealthCare

Joel Vengco, Vice President & Chief Information Officer Baystate Health

Sudip Verma, Director of Sales Strategy and Operations, Alegeus Technologies

Kate Walsh, President & CEO, Boston Medical Center

Rick Weisblatt, Chief of Innovation and Strategy, Harvard Pilgrim HealthCare

View the press release and photos from the November 22nd meeting of the Council. The announcement also gained media coverage from Healthcare IT NewsBoston Globe, Boston Business Journal, and others.

Go Back